Return to Headlines

Texas Teachers of the Year Honored at State Luncheon

The Texas Association of School Administrators (TASA), which facilitates the Texas Teacher of the Year program, has named Texas’ top teachers for 2023.

Shelley Jeoffroy, a fifth-grade math teacher at Otis Brown Elementary in Irving ISD, was named the 2023 Texas Elementary Teacher of the Year. Jeoffroy was chosen to represent the state in the National Teacher of the Year competition, so she will have the title of 2023 Texas Teacher of the Year. Chris McLeod, a rocket engineering teacher from Brazosport ISD (Clute, Texas), was named the 2023 Texas Secondary Teacher of the Year.

The announcements were made during an awards ceremony in Round Rock, Texas, October 21. Both state-level winners will receive a cash award and a commemorative trophy.

Also honored at the Texas Teacher of the Year awards luncheon was New Caney ISD's Mary Blanco, the Region 6 Elementary Teacher of the Year from Bens Branch Elementary School.