Return to Headlines

New Caney Army JROTC competes in rifle competition

New Caney Army JROTC defeats Dinwiddie AJROTC

Rifle Team 2A NCHS  October 18, 2016 | Responsible Citizens | Shooting their highest score of the season, New Caney AJROTC defeated Dinwiddie AJROTC 959 to 810 last week in the National Air Rifle League.

Their second win in a row, New Caney AJROTC is in second place in their Division with a 2-0 record. New Caney AJROTC was led by Riley Bernardic who shot a 248. The remaining contributing members were Steven Daum, Trevor Gaines, and Cohen Jones. New Caney AJROTC is coached by Major Mike Conner.

Dinwiddie AJROTC dropped to 0-2 on the season. They are currently in eighth place in their Division. Dinwiddie AJROTC was led by Johnathan Trammell who shot a 222. The remaining contributing members were Diamond Jackson, Jalil Copher and Zachary Murray. Dinwiddie AJROTC is from Dinwiddie, VA, and is coached by Darrold Harper.

New Caney AJROTC will compete next against Seneca Valley AJROTC from Harmony, Pa. Seneca Valley AJROTC currently has a 1-1 record. Dinwiddie AJROTC will compete against Alvin C. York Institute from Jamestown, TN. Alvin C. York Institute currently has a 0-2 record.

These two teams are competing in the Army JROTC Governor's Division of the Orion National Air Rifle League. Sponsored by the Orion Scoring System, the league is a national team league for high school teams and junior rifle clubs. The league has two parts. An 8-week round-robin regular season is going on now followed by a single-elimination tournament for the top eight teams that will compete for the league championship.

In each game, the teams compete in what is known as a Three-Position Air Rifle match. The match is modeled after Olympic rifle competitions but adapted to high school age athletes. Each athlete will shoot 10 shots in three different shooting positions, prone, standing, and kneeling. Each shot is worth a maximum of 10 points. The sum of points scored in the 30 shots is the athlete's total. The team score is comprised of the best four athletes from each team.