Immunization Requirements

  • Immunization Requirements

    The Texas State Department of Health requires that all children entering Texas elementary or secondary schools of higher education must have been immunized against communicable diseases: Diphtheria/Tetanus/Attenuated Pertussis (DTaP/TdaP), Poliomyelitis, Measles/Mumps/Rubella (MMR), Haemophilus Influenzae (HIB), Pneumococcus (PCV), Meningitis (MCV), Varicella, Hepatitis A, and Hepatitis B.

    2020/2021 Immunization Requirements - Texas DSHS

    7th Grade Immunization Requirements

    • Tetanus booster (1 dose of Tdap is required if at least 5 years have passed since the last dose of tetanus-containing vaccine.)
    • 1 Meningitis Vaccine (on or after 11th birthday; If a student received the vaccine at 10 years of age, this will satisfy the requirement.)

    ***ATTENTION Incoming 7th grade Parents/Students***

    A current/updated copy of your student's shot record will be required to complete the registration process and to receive your returning student's class schedule for the upcoming school year.

    Hepatitis A

    Students in grades Pk - 11th grade are required to have two Hep A vaccines.

    Chicken Pox

    Students in K – 12 grades are required to have two Varicella shots. However, if your child has had Chicken Pox, they do not need to complete this series. Please notify the school nurse and fill out and submit the verification form.

    High School

    Students entering college must also, with limited exception, furnish evidence of having received a bacterial meningitis vaccination within the five years prior to enrolling in and attending classes at an institution of higher education. A student wanting to enroll in a dual credit college course taken off campus may be subject to this requirement.

    Parents of students in the 12th grade are highly encouraged to review their child's immunizaiton records to ensure their student meets all college admission requirements.

    Immunization Enrollment Policy

    At time of registration, state law requires that a student present evidence of current immunization or of being in active pursuit of adequate immunization. A student shall show acceptable evidence of vaccination prior to entry, attendance, or transfer to a public or private elementary or secondary school in Texas.

    Since many types of personal immunization records are in use, any document will be acceptable provided a physician or public health personnel has validated it. Validation includes a signature, initials, or stamp. An immunization record generated from an electronic health record must include clinic contact information and the provider’s signature/stamp, along with the vaccine name and vaccination date (month, day, and year). An official record generated from a health authority is acceptable. An official record received from school officials, including a record from another state is acceptable.

    Immunization Exemption

    Texas law allows (a) physicians to write medical exemption statements that the vaccine(s) required would be medically harmful or injurious to the health and well-being of the child or household member, and (b) parents/guardians to choose an exemption from immunization requirements for reasons of conscience, including a religious belief. The law does not allow parents/guardians to elect an exemption simply because of inconvenience (for example, a record is lost or incomplete and it is too much trouble to go to a physician or clinic to correct the problem). Schools should maintain an up-to-date list of students with exemptions, so they may be excluded in times of emergency or epidemic declared by the commissioner of public health.

    Instructions for requesting the official exemption affidavit that must be signed by parents/guardians choosing the exemption for reasons of conscience, including a religious belief, can be found on the Exemption Information page of this website. An Original Exemption Affidavit must be completed and submitted to the school.

    For children claiming medical exemptions, a written statement by the physician must be submitted to the school. Unless it is written in the statement that a lifelong condition exists, the exemption statement is valid for only one year from the date signed by the physician.